Looking For Direction

MJD33

Looking For Direction

Postby MJD33 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:30 pm

Hi everyone,

I wanted to ask you what would be the recommended "path" to becoming a firefighter in Calgary, considering my current situation.

I am a 1st year apprentice as a fire sprinkler fitter. The company I work for specializes in a variety of fire protection systems and as an apprentice in this trade some of the things I will be learning about are fire codes, the types of fire systems out there, how to install and as well as fabricate parts needed in these systems to name a few.

I've had my eyes set on becoming a firefighter for a few years but I decided to get a trade under my belt not only as a reliable "fallback" option but to have some sort of credentials to myself because I do not have a college degree.

Currently I am 23 years old and by the time I get my journeyman ticket I will be 27. What can I do to make myself a better candidate considering my situation. I understand getting an EMT/EMR cert is a good step but considering I have bills to pay and would like to pursue this trade as a career for now I can't drop everything and put myself through SAIT's program. Maybe once I get my journeyman ticket, I can take some time off to do those.

Aside from that, what can I do? I would appreciate any sort of advice or direction. Thank you so much guys.

Winch1

Re: Looking For Direction

Postby Winch1 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:59 pm

You are definitely on the right track. Any trade is an advantage to have for the fire service, especially a Sprinkler Systems Installer trade. You will need to make sure you finish your apprenticeship and the rest will fall into place.