British Firefighter advice needed

Rothwell911

British Firefighter advice needed

Postby Rothwell911 » Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:57 am

Hi all,
I'm wondering if someone can help me? I'm a British firefighter with 16 years experience working for Greater Manchester Fire Service. My wife and I are currently in the process of applying to emigrate to Canada. We visited Canada last summer and I went to speak to the Fire department in Regina, Saskatchewan. I was told that firefighters have to have particular qualifications. The problem is all my training has been and currently is done 'in house', we don't get given qualifications as such. I would like to know how likely I am to get a job within a fire department as I do have the necessary training. I love my role as a firefighter and my career is the only thing I desperately don't want to have to sacrifice in a move across the pond.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Andy

TheGuy

Re: British Firefighter advice needed

Postby TheGuy » Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:30 pm

Rothwell911 wrote:Hi all,
I'm wondering if someone can help me? I'm a British firefighter with 16 years experience working for Greater Manchester Fire Service. My wife and I are currently in the process of applying to emigrate to Canada. We visited Canada last summer and I went to speak to the Fire department in Regina, Saskatchewan. I was told that firefighters have to have particular qualifications. The problem is all my training has been and currently is done 'in house', we don't get given qualifications as such. I would like to know how likely I am to get a job within a fire department as I do have the necessary training. I love my role as a firefighter and my career is the only thing I desperately don't want to have to sacrifice in a move across the pond.
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Andy
Hey Andy,